Skip to main content
Skip to main menu


Graduate News and Awards

Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 1:11pm

It is a pleasure to report on the outstanding accomplishments and activities of our graduate students  -- thanks to Graduate Coordinator Neil Lyall for providing information about our graduate program.

Our graduate students are pursuing their research both at UGA and elsewhere this summer.  Four students are participating in Summer Graduate Schools run by the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (Berkeley, California) in 2021:

  • Swapnanil Banerjee - Gauge Theory in Geometry and Topology
  • Haiyang Wang - Sparsity of Algebraic Points
  • Emily Crawford-Das -  2021 CRM-PIMS Summer School in Probability
  • David Galban -  Foundations and Frontiers of Probabilistic Proofs

Kenneth Allen received a Graduate Student Research Fellowship with the Department of Energy.  Kenneth is a Ph.D. student of Ming-Jun Lai working on data completion – that is, on what strategies can be used to complete an incomplete data set as well as possible.  This fellowship will allow him to apply his research to large-scale scientific data, working with David Green at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  You can read more here:

Our graduate student awards ceremony was again held virtually this year, at the end of April.

Graduate Coordinator Neil Lyall organized the ceremony, which was a great opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our graduate students and acknowledge their significant contributions to our department.  Dr. Lyall provided the following information about the awards:

This year, the David Galewski Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award went jointly to Freddy Saia and Peter Woolfitt in recognition of their long track record of exemplary teaching and service to the department. 

This year’s recipients of the University Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award were Sarah Blackwell, Thomas Melistas, Makoto Suwama, and Alex Tepper.

The William Armor Wills Memorial Scholarship Award went to Mentzelos Melistas. Mentzelos successfully defended his PhD in arithmetic geometry under the mentorship of Professor Dino Lorenzini earlier this Spring. One of the main results of his thesis concerns a conjecture made by Amod Agashe that relates torsion subgroups and Tamagawa numbers. His work, which has already been accepted for publication in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, can be seen as further evidence of the second part of the celebrated Birch and Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture in the analytic rank zero case.

This year’s recipients of the B.J. Ball Summer Scholarship were Swapnanil Banerjee, Daniel Hartman, Geunyoung Kim, and Terrin Warren.

Many other graduate students made significant contributions to our program and were recognized at the awards ceremony: Alex Newman and Freddy Saia for serving as ombudspersons, Komal Agrawal, Alex Newman, Terrin Warren, and Skylar Zhang for serving student representatives on the department’s Climate and Inclusivity Committee, Alex Newman for leading GRSC 7770, Patrick Akande, Sarah Blackwell, Devashi Gulati, and Peter Woolfitt for serving as peer mentors to our new first year students, Daniel Hartman and Andy Jenkins for running the Graduate Student Seminar, and finally Terrin Warren and Peter Woolfitt for heading up the student chapters of the AWM and AMS respectively. 




Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.