Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Students sitting in a classroom

Mathematics Research at UGA

Learn all about the research opportunities in the Department of Mathematics.

Read More

Welcome to the Department of Mathematics


              Great News!  The Mathematics Department is the recipient of the 2022 Regents' Teaching Excellence Award from the University System of Georgia.

UGA math alumni Summer Haag's graduate research featured in Quanta Magazine in August 2023.

UGA mathematics graduate student Devashi Gulati spoke at the Joint Math Meetings in San Francisco in January 2024 and was profiled on the AMS website.

Emerita Professor Sybilla Beckmann to Receive 2024 Award for Impact on Teaching and Learning of Mathematics from the American Mathematical Society.

The Department of Mathematics offers four degrees:

           Looking for a bright and engaged community? This is the place for you. In 2017, 37% of graduating mathematics majors reported attending graduate school after graduation.

           The Department hosts the Research and Training Group AGANT, generously supported by a $2,000,000.- grant from the National Science Foundation. Browse through some of the published articles of our graduate students.

 Prospective and Current Student Information    
To see major & course descriptions, minors & certificates, course syllabi, and more, go to the UGA Bulletin:
To see Registration Dates, go to the Office of the Registrar website
To see other Important Dates, refer to the UGA Academic Calendar:
To register for courses (during the registration dates), go to Registration under the Student tab on Athena
To see all of your UGA online services, login to the MyUGA Portal:

Featured Content

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Our Graduate Program

The Department of Mathematics of the University of Georgia is a vibrant mathematical community. The department has held an NSF VIGRE grant and an NSF VIGRE II grant for 12 years, and currently holds a $2,000,000 NSF Research and Training Group (RTG) grant (2014-2020). These grants provide additional financial support for graduate students, and stimulate research and teaching collaborations among the mathematics faculty, postdoctoral associates, graduate students, and undergraduates. 

Check out our Graduate Program


Graduate students